Friday, April 3, 2009

Congratulations to 2009 Local Government Innovation Award Winners
City winners of the 2009 Local Government Innovations Awards, sponsored by the Public and Non-Profit Leadership Center of the Hubert H. Humphrey Institute at the University of Minnesota, are:

City of Roseville for its Police Department’s East Metro SWAT team (in cooperation with St. Anthony, New Brighton, and North St. Paul).
City of Roseville for its Parks and Recreation Department’s skating center geothermal project. City of St. Michael for its Safe Schools-Diversity Initiative.
City of St. Louis Park for its Graffiti Abatement Program.

The Innovation Awards were started by the Humphrey Institute in 2007, in cooperation with the League of Minnesota Cities, the Association of Minnesota Counties, and the Minnesota School Boards Association. The awards recognize outstanding Minnesota local governments that have demonstrated results in improving local services in collaboration with public, nonprofit, and private organizations; increasing efficiency and cost effectiveness; and management process improvement. Winners will be honored at a ceremony and reception on April 15.