Friday, December 11, 2009

Who's who for 2010?
For political junkies, a list of current and former Minnesota city officials who intend to seek state-level offices in 2010. (Compiled by a colleague at the League of Minnesota Cities)

State Constitutional Offices
Pat [Awada] Anderson, once an Eagan Mayor, running for Governor. Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak, running for Governor. Randy Gilbert, Mayor of Long Lake, running for State Auditor .

State Legislature HD 10B – Former Wadena Council Member Pete Phillips (ended council service 12/31/2008) is making a second run for MN House in 2010. HD 14A - Sartell Mayor Tim O’Driscoll filed paperwork to run for the Republican nomination for the state House of Representatives seat held by Dan Severson, R-Sauk Rapids. SD 26 - Waseca businessman Mike Parry is seeking the Republican endorsement in an upcoming special election to fill District 26 seat vacated by Sen. Dick Day. Parry served on Waseca’s City Council from 2004 to 2008. HD 37B – Rosemount City Council Member Kurt Bills has announced his intent to become the Republican candidate for the 37B House of Representatives seat in 2010. SD48 – Nowthen City Council Member Laurie Olmon is running for State Senate in 2010 for Senate District 48 against Mike Jungbauer. SD53 - Blake Huffman, Shoreview City Council Member, intends to run for state office, most likely State Senate or State Representative.

You can also link to the list of current legislators with city ties on the League's website