Tuesday, August 19, 2014

League of Minnesota Cities selects 31 as Legislators of Distinction for 2014

The League of Minnesota Cities recently selected 19 members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and 12 State Senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2014. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during this year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League’s Board of Directors to recognize that in order to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents all across Minnesota.

Recipients of the recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement noted the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter was sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner.